Federal Disaster Assistance Available to Tennessee Survivors

From the news release:

ATLANTA – Survivors of the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding from

April 25-28 in Tennessee should apply now for federal assistance.

The Presidential declaration on May 1 made funding available to affected individuals in Bradley, Greene, Hamilton and Washington counties.

Assistance is available in the form of grants for rental assistance, basic home repairs, other serious disaster-related needs and low-interest disaster loans. Renters, homeowners and business owners may apply for help through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

However, you must register first. The process takes 15 to 30 minutes.

You can apply for federal assistance directly through Web-enabled mobile devices or smartphones. Registration through the mobile site takes three steps:

  1. Go to m.fema.gov and click “Apply Online for FEMA Assistance.” You will be directed to www.DisasterAssistance.gov;
  2. Click on Start Registration; and
  3. Fill out the registration form.

You can also register online at www.DisasterAssistance.gov or call 800-621-FEMA (3362). Operators speak many languages. Those with hearing or speech impairment can use TTY 800-462-7585.

FEMA will ask you for the following information:

  • The telephone number where you can be reached;
  • The address where you lived at the time of the disaster and the address where you are staying;
  • Your Social Security number;
  • A general description of damage to your property and other losses;
  • The name of your insurance company and your policy number or agent if you have property insurance; and
  • Your bank account routing information if you want FEMA to use direct deposit.




The toll-free FEMA registration numbers are available seven days a week from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m.

local time.

Individual assistance helps eligible applicants with rental assistance, uninsured personal property losses and medical, dental and funeral expenses caused by the disaster, along with other disaster-related expenses and serious needs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration also will be available to cover residential and business losses not covered by insurance.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis in Bradley, Greene, Hamilton and Washington counties for debris removal and emergency protective measures.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status.  If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362). For TTY call 800-462-7585.


FEMA’s temporary housing assistance and grants for public transportation expenses, medical and dental expenses, and funeral and burial expenses do not require individuals to apply for an SBA loan. However, applicants who receive SBA loan applications must submit them to SBA loan officers to be eligible for assistance that covers personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, and moving and storage expenses.


Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: